We are pleased to announce the recipients of the GSA Poster Awards for posters presented at the 32nd Fungal Genetics Conference! Undergraduate and graduate student members of GSA were eligible for the awards, and a hard-working team of judges made the determinations.

Congratulations to all!

Felicia Ebot Ojong, The University of Georgia

My research is focused on understanding the mechanisms that regulate facultative heterochromatin in the model fungus Neurospora crassa.

Erika Kroll, Rothamsted Research

I use dual co-expression network analysis to model and subsequently validate genetic processes underlying the infection caused by the pathogenic fungus Fusarium graminearum in its host, wheat.

Anna Mackey, Duke University 

I study stress-induced transposon mobilization and genome evolution in Cryptococcus neoformans.

Halie Martin, University of Colorado Colorado Springs

My research focuses on diversity analyses to understand the impact that per- and polyfluorinated compounds have on microbe communities.

Shantala Mounichetty, INRAE

My research focuses on understanding the role of a Sclerotinia sclerotiorum gene regulator linking metabolism and virulence.

Sébastien Ortiz, The University of Manchester

I work on characterizing host-pathogen interactions between fungal spores and airway epithelial cells

Thomas Sauters, Vanderbilt University

I study non-pathogenic fungal genotypic and phenotypic variation revealing novel information about fungal virulence.

Alan Wanke, The Sainsbury Laboratory Cambridge University (SLCU)

I study Mucoromycotina ‘Fine Root Endophytes’—a new window into the evolution of mycorrhizal symbioses.

Samantha González-Téllez, Centro de Investigación Científica y de Educación Superior de Ensenada, Baja California

My work is focused on elucidating the mechanisms of vesicular transport of chitosomes in Neurospora crassa.